Friday, January 30, 2009

A school girl crush

So, I have a little school girl crush on this absolutely wonderful guy named Adam and I just can't stop smiling! Wow, I feel like a 12 year old having that first crush again! Lets hope good things happen because he is by far the most amazing guy I have ever dated and I couldn't be anymore happy! I know this is disgustingly sappy but I had to share my joy with the rest of you! Wish me luck!
Love a gaa gaa eyed Katie

Thursday, January 8, 2009

To exciting now!

I guess I shouldn't have ever said my life was boring because then you get all sorts of things thrown at you! Ok, I get the ridiculous duty of taking care of my aunt Raette's four legged family while she is away at her fathers funeral. This includes more cats than I think I can name, Tex, the impossibly fat, toy Australian sheep dog, and Bugsy and Sophie, the cutest, naughtiest, little half Maltese half Yorkie puppies you have ever laid eyes on. I have them until Sunday and I started Tuesday. Everything was going great, except for the occasional puppy piddle on the floor. I went to potty everybody this morning and I thought a treat was needed. BIG MISTAKE. note to self- read fine print and make sure that wussy dogs will be able to swallow them. So Tex ate his right up, Bugsy was fine, but poor little Sohpie just couldn't quite figure out how to get that sucker down! It didn't help that Tex felt the need to try and steal it from her! I tried to take the treat to break it in to smaller pieces but Sophie didn't want my help. So immediately after this whole ordeal, we went back inside and that's when the terrible whining started. Not normal little dog whines, but I'm really really in pain whines! Frantically I called the one person I knew who would actually know what to do... HOLLY!! She said call Raette, which I did, and Raette being the weirdly calm type no matter how big of a deal this is kind of person, told me to check on her in a few hours. Anyways, long story (about a dog) short, we ended up taking her to the vet because I just couldn't handle the whole stress out of the thing. The stupid vet said that she was fine but would do an x-ray just to be on the safe side and guess what! Something was stuck in her throat! I TOLD YOU SO is what I should have yelled at that stupid jerk! Needless to say, Sophie has recovered and all is well! I think extra payment is in demand due to my pain and suffering, but what am I talking about, at least I didn't get a thermometer shoved up my bum!

Monday, January 5, 2009

CHING CHA CHING CHING CHING CHING CHA CHING!!!!

Ok, so I did something just a little illegal on Friday night. No, nothing like go to jail illegal, just tsk tsk illegal. Lets start from the beginning.... It was Friday night and Brian (my ex who I'm still friends with, confusing but whatever) and I were in charge of entertaining his niece (Ellie 14 months) and nephew (Will 3 years). Seeing as how I have the maternal instinct and such, it turned into just me in charge of the little rascals. They are so so adorable though so I had fun. Well, Brian's brother-in-law wanted to take a family bonding trip to the most obvious place! Not temple square, but the small city of Wendover, UTAH NEVADA. So, everyone over 21 (except for Brian's parents) were going and I for sure wasn't going to miss out on all that fun, so on the band wagon I jumped. We left at about 6:30, knowing that since it was snowing ridiculously hard it would take longer than normal to reach the tiny sin city. Wait, I'm getting ahead of myself... In the car already was Lee, Emily, Justin, Brian and myself and we had to make the trek down to SLC to pick up Brian's sister Laura. Once all the sinners were in the car, we needed some much needed sustenance. Burger Kings shining beacon was our guiding light. After an order that would drive any sane drive through attendant nuts, we were off and stuffing our faces. The road there was so so so bad, but we couldn't be derailed. Only one almost near accident moment, we finally saw the lights on the horizon. Laura, who is a Wendover pro. informed us that our best casino choices were The Nugget (which has the best ventilation apparently), Monetego Bay (inside looks like what you would see in a real Las Vegas casino), and the Red Garter (the slums of Wendover). We stopped at the Nugget first. It was the sugar bowl so lots of intoxicated Ute fans which equals lots and lots of noise. Emily and I were in desperate need of the facilities, so off we went. My first experience of Wendover was two inebriated females in the bathroom exclaiming how fun they were. Ok off to do the walk through. (NOTE TO READER.... I don't turn 21 until August so I was praying no one would card me) We hit the Nickel slots to "warm up" $1.00 lost. Then we decided to monitor the boys spending at the black jack tables. After Lee was down $10.00 and Justin up $15.00. Emily and I decided to leave and do some penny slots. Up $3.87, keep in mind this was all on the penny slots. Ok, lets speed this up, so back to the black jack tables. The boys blew through a total of $135.00 combined and we decided to cut our loses and head over to the montego bay. That place was like a cloud of cigarette smoke so we stayed for a max of 5 minutes. We headed back to the Nugget to the bathroom one more time, because Laura told us not to use the one at the Red Garter. Emily noticed a dollars worth of change on the floor and I jokingly said, pick it up! She informed me that she wasn't that poor and no, she wasn't picking up the potty change. We were all in desperate need of some H2O, and once again Burger King was our saving grace. Off to the red garter, the only place in Wendover where the nickle slots actually pay out real nickles. We (all the girls) changed $5.00 for nickles and headed to the slots. Ok, the ching ching ching noise is so so fun to hear!!! I got a little over zealous and ended up losing all $5.00 and then some. So as we left, at 12:00, here was our totals. Lee- down $100.00 Justin- down $40.00 Emily- about even Laura- no idea, she disappeared for about 30 minutes so who knows Brian- down $20.00 Katie- down $14.00. We didn't get home until 3:00 a.m. because of the weather and my car got stuck in Brian's driveway so I had to have him take me home. By the time I was asleep, it was 4:00. I had to be up at 7:00 am for the merit badge pow wow and think that this will be the last Wendover trip for awhile. I think it was worth it. I hope you all enjoyed this evening just as much as I did!

Thursday, January 1, 2009

I think its time for a post...

Seeing as it has been 2009 for 10 hours and 45 minutes, I think it is time to post, finally. What should I post about? How thankful I am for the last year? How excited I am for this new year? My resolutions that I will break tomorrow, or before the day is over. I'm at a loss. What does one say when they have had no life changing, exciting days recently that they feel the need to blog about! I sit and read about silly customers(Holly), new hair colors(Syd), and more, and think to myself, WOW, you have been extremely boring these last few weeks. Soooooo, I have decided that this post will have to hold all you loyal blog readers over until I am inspired to write about something that will leave you all rolling on the floor laughing with super sore tummy muscle. That's right, I will not only leave you laughing, but give you your daily workout! You can thank me when those pants your wearing aren't as tight as they used to be!